Serving the people of Glenfield

Elections are a democratic process in which citizens over the age of 18 elect political candidates to represent them and their interests locally (on the District and Parish Councils), nationally (in Parliament) or internationally (in the European Parliament).

District and Parish Council Elections

District and Parish Council elections are held on the first Thursday in May, once every four years. The last elections were held on 2nd May 2019 and the results can be found below.

Blaby District is made up of 18 Wards with between 1 and 3 representatives for these Wards. There are a total of 39 seats.

There are 24 Parishes in Blaby District, of which 19 have Parish Councils to which representatives are elected every 4 years held at the same time as the District elections. There are a total of 244 seats.

County Council Elections

County Council elections are, likewise, held on the first Thursday in May, once every four years. The last elections were held on 2nd May 2013.

In Blaby District there are 8 divisions for the County Council, each represented by 1 Councillor.

Parliamentary General Election

Parliamentary elections are held in response to Her Majesty the Queen dissolving Parliament and issuing a Writ to hold an election. The maximum term of office of a Government is five years, however elections are usually held before that time has expired. A "snap" Parliamentary election was held on the 8th June 2018. The next general election in the United Kingdom is scheduled to be held on 5 May 2022 under the Fixed-term Parliaments Act 2011

Blaby District is split between two Parliamentary Constituencies, South Leicestershire and Charnwood, each represented by one member of Parliament (MP).

European Parliamentary Elections

European Parliamentary elections are held every five years on a date which is determined by the Council of the European Communities and takes place throughout Europe between Thursday and the following Sunday of the specified week. This is because Member States traditionally vote on different days of the week, e.g. United Kingdom votes on Thursdays, Italy votes on Sundays. The 2019 European elections in the United Kingdom will take place on Thursday 23 May. Blaby District is part of the East Midlands Region which is represented by five members of the European Parliament (MEP's).

Citizens of EU member states wishing to register as European Parliamentary electors must complete a separate application accompanied by a declaration, which must state that they will vote only in the UK at any European Parliamentary election during the 12 month period of the validity of the declaration. EU citizens may only vote once and only in the one member state at a European Parliamentary election, and to do otherwise would be committing an offence punishable on conviction by imprisonment of up to 6 months and/or a fine. Citizens of EU member states must fill in a UC1 form if they wish to vote at the European Parliamentary elections in the UK.

Last updated: Fri, 03 May 2019 10:25